DJ Enferno – The Live Remix Guru

Check out this great interview that DJ Enferno did for blogcritics.org and Justin Kantor! Enferno talks about many things, including how he got into DJing, his lifetime experience with Madonna and remixing “Like A Prayer” in the Sticky & Sweet Tour and his current Ultra Dance Tour!

DJ Enferno

Justin Kantor: What were your impressions of Madonna, working with her? It’s something that a lot of people would love to do. What did you take away from that experience?

Enferno: It was such a learning experience for me, and it was really an honor to be not just in the presence of her, but everybody around her. I learned a lot from collaborating on the remixes and seeing the whole work ethic. I tried my best to be a sponge, but at the same time, contributing as much as I could. You can’t put a price on that type of thing.

Enferno: That arrangement of “Like A Prayer” was actually my idea. That’s kind of my little claim to fame there, because I had worked on it on my own, and this is before we started the main rehearsal process. I worked on this arrangement with those keys. It was like a mash-up with this song called “Feels Like Home”– which actually samples a song by Felix featuring Jomanda called “Don’t You Want Me,” and I always thought that would sound good with “Like A Prayer.” So, I actually had the beginnings of that done and they ended up using it for the show. It had a lot of meaning for me. It’s such a big part of the show, so, I never got tired of that. People would hear those keys and her vocals, and go nuts.

Leave a Reply

